DIY Wall Art

Little Boys Chalkboard Name Sign

Finished SignHey ya’ll, welcome back!  I’m glad ya’ll stopped by. The weather here in my neck of the woods has been GLORIOUS the last two days.

There is a large park just minutes from our home called Thousand Acres, I love taking the pups there. On most days you can look out across the meadows and see it dotted with pups of all shapes and sizes frolicking about, chasing balls or each other you can also find them swimming in the delta.  It’s also a great place to take children they can run through the meadows filled with wildflowers, sit and watch insects and birds fluttering around or explore the forest.  There’s even a real duck blind on the delta where you can check out the local water foul..

Speaking of children I made this cute little chalkboard name sign for my grandson Hunter.  He is all boy and loves playing with his match box cars and little trucks and tractors in the yard

I went to my local craft store where they have a bin in the back corner of the framing section filled with all different sizes and colors of picture frame matting.  For this project I needed a 8 * 10 for the frame I was going to use, which I picked up at Goodwill and spray painted it blue.  I painted one side of the mat board with chalk paint and set it aside to dry.

Free Printable Tractor

 

While my chalkboard paint was drying  I googled “free printable tractors” and found the picture I wanted to use and printed out.

Then I created a  Word document with Hunters name on it in size and font that I wanted.

Step One placement of carbon paper

Lay a piece of white carbon paper on top of the chalkboard, place the  picture in the position you want it and trace out the picture.Picture over carbon paper

Once I remove the picture and the carbon paper I begin by out lining the section that I am working on then filing it in.

And now you have a one of a kind piece of art work for your child’s room.  What do you think?  I think it came out great!

Finished Sign

Just a little side not – I did this project twice.  The first time I did this project I used liquid chalk and was not at all happy with the results.  And honestly it might be that I need more practice but, the liquid chalk was streaky and part of me just likes the look of real chalk more than the liquid chalk.  Have any of you used liquid chalk?  I’d love for you to share your thoughts and techniques with me on this.

 

Don’t forget you can follow The Peach Engine on your favorite social media site.  Until next get some craft on!

 

Chris

 

Leave a Reply

